Maple-Mustard Glazed

March 4, 2008

So, my plans for Vegan March haven’t worked out – but I am eating vegetarian.  There was just too many non-vegan things left in the house to jump right in.   I’ve always had aspirations to be at least vegetarian again and I’ve always wanted to try veganism.  I hate that I failed in my plan for a Vegan March, but what I hate more though – is waste – so I will not throw out anything edible.

Over the weekend I did make a version of my Beef Stew w/o the beef.    The beef stew I usually make (with the beef) is based loosely on a recipe I saw on Food Network.  Nikkie loves it, so in addition to making it at least once per month, I made it for my birthday party back in October.  For my veggie guests, I did make a vegan version by the seat of my pants then too. 

Sunday, I made another version based sort of on the above, but also on this recipe.  I also cooked up a batch of Tempeh Sausage Crumbles from Vegan with a a Vengeance.  I enjoyed it in the stew, but Nikkie was actually satisfied with the stew plain. 

She did like my next creation with the crumbles though – a seat of my pants Sloppy Joe.  I of course had no hamburger buns – so served them in hot dog buns instead.  Quite tasty.  Just reheat them and add some BBQ sauce and a bit more oil.

Tonight I am baking up a version of the Maple-Mustard Glazed Potatoes that I found in VWAV, too.  No green beans in the house, so I’m trying it out with other stuff.

2-3 potatoes, cut bite-sized
3-4 carrots, cut bite-sized
2 large parsnips, cut bite-sized
2 cloves of garlic, minced
3 TB dijon mustard
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 TB soy sauce or tamari
2-3 TB olive oil
Ground black pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

-Mix all the garlic through black pepper in a mixing bowl. 
-Add potatoes, carrots, and parsnips – toss to coat.
-Line a baking dish in foil (I used a 9×13)
-Bake at 400 for 30 minutes
-Remove from oven, lower heat to 325 degrees F, and stir/toss
-Bake for another 40 minutes so everything gets nice and soft.

I’m sure any root vegetables will do.  The original recipe calls only for Potatoes and Green Beans.  I’ve made that too – with great results.

Leave a Reply

