Earned Income Credit

March 21, 2008

The Earned Income Credit.   I don’t qualify for the EIC in any shape or form now that I’m a real live lawyer, but I’m still pissed off about something.

When I was in law school, the EIC became available.  At that point in my life, I was working a bit, but mostly in school and was really excited about it. 

But I was only 24.

You see – “If you are 25 years old but under age 65 at the end of the year and had low wages or other earned income you may be able to claim the credit.”

I don’t get it.  I mean, my family was full of well-wishers, but not funders.  I come from the GED-getting, no-college-going working class.  Where does this age limit come from?  Is this just another white-middle-class assumption that persons (adults!) between 18 and 24 are somehow supported by their families?

I wasn’t then and I wasn’t prior to law school either.  Fuck that.  EIC should be available to any independent tax payer with need.

One Response to “Earned Income Credit”

  1. cole Says:

    I love your pictures!!!

    Does your gfriend/partner have a website for her band???? Super cool.

    FEderal Hill? Huh?

    AND we were just in Queens, my cousin and his gfriend live on 32nd st.

    xx
    ps. Sorry about the tax thing. Have some kids, you get credit for them!


Leave a Reply

