i tried

January 9, 2009

She likes to tell me I’m a good cook. 

iy0308_chicken-fricassee_lg1

 

 

 

 

 

Or at least, that she likes what I cook for her.  I try, I do.  But yes, I AM cooking for her…

(I mean really, who’d not want a woman cooking for her who has a variety of curry powders, fresh veggies, and ghee at her her fingertips?  Let’s not forget the willingness to make her Special Beef Stew…)

On New Year’s, I was determined to make this recipe and I did.  I had David to cook for – and Nikkie does like her chickens… I found it because I was home and was watching the Food Network – not my usual practice, but…

But I was sure not to make it as bland as it was shown. 

From what I know, Fricassee refers to how the chicken is cut – not how it is prepared.  Every other recipe I found for this was either bland or spicy, but nothing told me how to make it for David and Nikkie.

So, this is what I did.

Ingredients

  • 4  chicken breasts, cut into large pieces
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1.5 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 large white onion, coarsely chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 serrano chili peppers (or one jalapeno) chopped fine
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground madras curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 (11.5 ounce) jar white asparagus in water
  • 1/3 cup capers, drained and rinsed
  • thinly chopped scallions, for garnish

Directions

Season the chicken all over with salt and pepper. Place the chicken pieces in a large pot with the broth, onion, garlic, chili peppers, Worcestershire sauce, lemon zest, cumin, curry powder, and oregano.

Cover, bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer, until the chicken is cooked through, about 15  minutes. Strain and transfer the chicken to a plate or bowl -reserve liquid.

Add  liquid to the pot and simmer over medium heat. Add the flour, whisking to avoid getting lumps. Bring the sauce to a simmer stirring constantly so it doesn’t stick or burn, until it has thickened slightly, about 5 minutes.

Remove the asparagus from the jar, reserving the liquid, and cut the stalks into thirds. Whisk the asparagus water into the thickened broth. Add capers, stirring to combine.

Add the chicken and asparagus to the sauce and stir to coat. Cook a couple of minutes to heat through and bring the flavors together. Transfer the chicken fricassee to a decorative platter or bowl and garnish with chopped scallions.

Serve  over amazing rice/lentils.

 Kiss your girl.

Leave a Reply

